Pool Certificates

Pool Inspections

Pool Regulations



Posted in Pool Safety Regulations

The new pool safety laws apply to pools associated with houses, townhouses, units, hotels, motels, backpacker hostels, home stay accommodation and caravan parks (building classes 1-4 as defined under the Building Code of Australia). Pool owners have until 30 November 2015 to comply with the new pool safety standard, or earlier if they sell or lease their property before then. Different rules apply depending on whether the pool is a shared pool or non-shared pool.

    Shared pools – If residents of two or more dwellings can use a pool, such as a body corporate pool, it is a shared pool.
    Non-shared pools – If a pool is only accessible to residents of one dwelling, such as a private house or private spa on a unit balcony, it is a non-shared pool.
    All pools in Queensland need to be registered. The government has extended this date till November 4th 2011. Make sure you do this to avoid the risk of being fined up to $2000.
    All Queensland properties must be adhere to having a Pool Safety Certificate within the 5 year period. (30th Nov 2015)
    Be aware not having pool safety certificate the risks are even higher should a drowning or submersion injury occur in your pool.
    For more information go to www.dip.qld.gov.au

Affordable Pool Certification Ph: (07) 5593 7228